Buhari names new INEC chairman, five commissioners

Buhari names new INEC chairman, five commissioners


President Muhammadu Buhari on Wednesday named Prof. Mahmood Yakubu as the National Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission.

The appointment was consequently approved at the first meeting of the Council of State presided over by Buhari.

Five new national commissioners were also named for the commission.

The national commissioners are Mrs. Amina Zakari (North-West); Dr. Anthonia Okoosi-Simbine (North Central); Alhaji Baba Shettima Arfo (North-East); Dr. Mohammed Mustafa Lecky (South-South) and Mr. Soyebi Adedeji Solomon (South-West).

The South-East is said to still have a sitting national commissioner.

Governor Aminu Tambuwal of Sokoto State briefed State House correspondents at the end of the meeting.

Details soon


At Newsweb Express we don't only break the news, we are committed to investigative and developmental journalism

You may also like...

1 Response

  1. October 2, 2023

    … [Trackback]

    […] Read More Info here to that Topic: newswebexpress.com/buhari-names-new-inec-chairman-five-commissioners/ […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: